Storing Garlic and Making Cucumber & Onion Salad

A couple of photos now … here is the garlic I picked this afternoon:

I bundled it, stalk & all, and put it out on the front porch to cure for a couple of weeks.  Apparently, during this time there is a process where additional flavor is transferred from the stalk into the cloves.  After that I will give some away, use some, and freeze some.  I plan to plant more this fall after tasting a clove of this today.  It’s wonderful stuff.

In fact, I used two fresh cloves and made cucumber & onion salad (one of my favorites!). My first cucumber was almost six inches long this afternoon and perfectly formed, so it was time to pick.  If you continue to pick younger cucumbers without allowing them to get overly large, then you’ll end up with a much larger crop.  When you let them get big, the plant stops making more.

Here’s the recipe:

1 cucumber, thinly sliced
1/2 onion
cover with mixture of white vinegar and water (2/3 vinegar to 1/3 water)
2 cloves of crushed garlic
1/2 tsp salt (maybe a bit less, according to taste)
Sprinkle with a bit of sugar (don’t overdo it)

I cut it all up in the food processor and then combined in this container, where it will marinate overnight in the fridge.  I already had a taste … and wow … it’s soo soooooo good.

Leave a Reply

