Zucchini Casserole Recipe

So I’m in the process of making my daily zucchini dish … at least I can tell that is what it is going to turn into.  I’ve eaten a couple of the smaller zucchini already, but I picked the first one of any consequential size this morning and decided to fix a casserole for dinner tonight. I picked another smaller one to round out the dish.  When I picked it, I pulled off the flower (which is edible too, btw), and a little honeybee flew out. 🙂

Awww, here’s the first feller …

Here’s the recipe … pretty easy and quick too …

2 cups bread, cubed (I used some day old baguette … mmmm)
1/4 to 1/3 cup melted butter
2 cups sliced zucchini
1/2 onion, shredded
1 egg, beaten (I used egg beaters)
3 cloves freshly pressed garlic 🙂
1/2 tsp salt
2 cups shredded cheddar cheese (I used a four cheese mix)

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
  2. Place bread cubes in a bowl and pour butter over the bread.
  3. Add the zucchini, onion, garlic, salt and egg; mix well.
  4. Transfer the mixture to an 8×8 or 9×13 baking dish and top with the cheese.
  5. Bake, covered, in preheated oven for 30 minutes. Then uncover the dish and bake for another 30 minutes.

It looks and sounds so incredibly good, can’t wait to try it … will let you know how it turned out!  I can tell that I’m going to have to come up with all sorts of creative uses for zucchini over the next few weeks.  This plant is a prolific producer.  And it’s my goal not to waste a single vegetable from the garden, so I might end up having to give some away.

One response to “Zucchini Casserole Recipe

  1. This sounds mouthwatering!

Leave a Reply

