Kickin’ Bruschetta Recipe

Today I made some bruschetta that is just mouth-wateringly good … here’s what I did …

2.5 cups fresh basil
1 tbs fresh oregano
1 tbs fresh cilantro
3 cloves fresh garlic
5 or 6 small, vine tomatoes
1/2 tbs minced red pepper
1 tbs extra virgin olive oil
1 tsp apple cider vinegar
1 tsp lime juice
1 tsp lemon juice
1 tsp salt
1 tsp freshly ground pepper

Some of this is approximation.  But basically, I minced the basil, oregano, cilantro, red pepper & garlic together, then added the olive oil & vinegar to the food processor.  Next the tomatoes and remaining ingredients.  I like to have more basil to tomato ratio (because you can’t have too much basil in my book these days).  Once it’s all mixed together, store in a mason jar in the fridge or put immediately on anything from eggs to baguette or fresh bread.  It’s practically good enough to eat plain!

I’ll make a LOT more of this as the summer goes on, use some, store some.  The flavor is just amazin’ and I can’t get enough.  It’s the second time I’ve made it already!

This is basically my recipe for salsa too, only I add more cilantro, half an onion and a couple of jalapenos. mmmmm

Leave a Reply

