It’s Mid-May … GROW TIME

Let’s update the progress of the garden.

First off, now I’m wishing I would have transplanted the strawberries last fall or spring.  Because they are outta control and taking over the planet.  They are going to crowd my other stuff.  I just can’t bring myself to thin them.  They are FULL of berries and the first red one showed up yesterday.

North Garden Square

North Garden Square

I am also wishing I would have planned a bit better.  The zucchini and the cantaloupe are going to be crowded for sure.  They are on either corner on the north side of the square, and I intend to train them up and over the sides.

The south square is in pretty good shape, but I do wish I would have allowed for more space for the squash.  However, the things on both sides around the squash are earlier harvest items, so I should be in decent shape there.

South Garden Square

South Garden Square

Watermelon is growing in the peat pots.  I have plans for the melon and pole beans, which are going on a new terrace up on my hillside that is under construction.  The tomatoes, which were planted from seed a little over a month ago, are now approaching a foot tall.  I have four plants instead of two to fight my epic squirrel battle.  Cilantro and dill is growing in an herb pot.

Tomatoes Growing

Tomatoes Growing

Watermelon Seedlings

Watermelon Seedlings

Cilantro and Dill

Cilantro and Dill

Oregano

Oregano

The early planting this year actually paid off.  There were two or three more freezes and even a bit of snow after I planted, but the beets, onions, cabbage, broccoli and peas are all growing with great gusto!  Next month I’ll post an update on the terrace project and hopefully the beans and watermelon will be planted by then.  I’m also planning to add pumpkin to the project, and the strawberries will be relocated to the hillside this fall, leaving me more room for other items in the squares next season.

Leave a Reply

